A Review of “The Chosen” – Part 1

Many of our listeners have asked us what we think of the popular hit series, The Chosen, or whether we’d recommend or avoid it. In this first of our three-part podcast episodes, we review both seasons 1 and 2, and compare the scenes in the show to the Bible. In this first episode, we focus on the beliefs and also the affiliations of the show’s writer/producer/director, Dallas Jenkins.

Resources:

What is Mormonism/Latter-Day Saints? – Amy Spreeman – Berean Research

Nativity Scenes and the Second Commandment– Michelle Lesley- Discipleship for Christian Women

The Mailbag: Overview/Review of “The Chosen” (An Online TV Series on the Ministry of Jesus)– Michelle Lesley- Discipleship for Christian Women

Mail Call: What do you think of the TV series “The Chosen”– Elizabeth Prata

A Brief Reality Check About The Chosen– Chris Rosebrough

(Tran)Script

Thank you, bless you and Walk Worthy!

A Word Fitly Spoken
A Word Fitly Spoken
A Review of "The Chosen" - Part 1
Loading
/

10 Responses to A Review of “The Chosen” – Part 1

  1. Rick Beaudin July 14, 2021 at 9:00 am #

    I enjoyed your review, but I disagree on one point with you guy’s. I would say, avoid this show and anything they sell, the reason why is because of Dallas Joining hands with the LDS. Content of the show aside, as we can use discernment and say, I can tell its slightly off, and I watch it for entertainment, the bigger issue is, the LDS church. The LDS will use this to claim they are Christian and use it to proselytize. My ministry is to LDS and have been studying Mormonism for over 20 years. I cover many of these issues and more on my website. http://Www.soundcloud.com look up Mormonism Reviewed. I have around 125 podcasts on Mormonism

    • A Word Fitly Spoken July 14, 2021 at 12:20 pm #

      Thanks for listening, and for you comment, Rick! :0)

  2. Paula July 14, 2021 at 2:10 pm #

    I listened to your podcast and appreciate the time you spent thoughtfully preparing it. Here are my thoughts/comments in response: 1). Sounds to me (based upon your comments about the sin cycle you described having seen in the study guide) like the author of the study guide is either Arminian OR realizes that we do not achieve sinless-in-this-life-status EVER but instead trust that our sanctification will be ongoing through this life and one day, He will complete the work He has begun in us when we receive our glorified bodies. 2). The “God told me…” makes me crazy, too, ladies. For too long, people have listened to flawed preaching and teaching straight from their own church’s pulpit – and have been handed books to read by authors like Henry Blackaby or Rick Warren or Joel What’s-His-Name. I mean, do people even read Hebrews 1:1-2 anymore?? 3) I appreciate that you neither reject or recommend the series The Chosen to people. 4). I have enjoyed the series The Chosen thus far, but then I also enjoy reading Historical Biblical Fiction by authors such as Jill Eileen Smith, Angela Hunt, Mesu Andrews and a few others. Based on that statement alone, I don’t think I would enjoy the show or the books if I had no relationship with Jesus nor any biblical understanding. I would probably watch and read much different things, which I don’t.

    • A Word Fitly Spoken July 14, 2021 at 2:59 pm #

      Thanks so much for listening and for sharing your thoughts, Paula!

      As an aside, I also love biblical historical fiction, so I’ll definitely check out the authors you mentioned. Have you ever read Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings series? I read it several years ago and really enjoyed it.

    • A Word Fitly Spoken July 15, 2021 at 1:09 pm #

      Thanks Paula,
      I am also going to check out those historical fiction authors.
      Henry Blackaby and Rick what’s-his-name did damage to our former church a decade or two back, and there was a lot of fallout.

  3. Roy Jaquez April 16, 2022 at 8:45 pm #

    Romans 10:17

    Regarding the “faith comes by hearing” Bible verse.

  4. Cat December 15, 2022 at 4:37 pm #

    Watch moste of the season but stop when Dallas Jenkins said LDS were Christians and found out the guy who played Jesus in real life is Catholic. I think it’s not good Christian theology

    • A Word Fitly Spoken December 19, 2022 at 3:32 pm #

      You’re right, Cat. It’s not.

  5. W CHARLES BROWN February 6, 2023 at 11:12 am #

    Like all of the other video or written criticisms that I have seen or read criticizing The Chosen, these two ladies make the same basic error. They ignore the actual script itself and fail to show how there’s anything in this script that contradicts sound Biblical theology. And the script is the backbone of the show; everything revolves around this script. All these other peripheral issues they raise are irrelevant, and it is those issues that these ladies and other critics seem to focus on. And I’ll say it again, they are irrelevant, they are non-issues!

    • A Word Fitly Spoken February 6, 2023 at 12:11 pm #

      But Charles, you didn’t provide us any examples from the script demonstrating that anything we said was irrelevant, a non-issue, or anything from the script that supports sound biblical theology, only your subjective, unsupported personal opinion, whereas we provided examples from the show and its associated materials, along with Scripture to back up everything we said. Isn’t that just a bit hypocritical on your part?

      Also, FYI, we (like you, I suspect) don’t have access to a copy of the script. We had to review the show based on the content of each episode. Which, funnily enough, came directly from the script. That’s what a script is for.

      But thank you for your comment, anyway. It helps drive up our analytics. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply